MY ALTER EGO

I’m not sure how or why it happened but one day I was arbitrarily given the nickname, Magpie…considering how random it was, I despised the term and tried to convince people that if I was to be a bird, it would be more suitable to choose one with a much higher chic-factor…like a swan! Despite my efforts, the nickname stuck…as they all seem to do.  Unbeknownst to me, this name was in fact a pretty accurate description of me!

Magpie: One who compulsively collects or hoards small objects.  A person who chatters.

Well then, case closed. I am a Magpie.  Although there is one amendment to the definition that I would have to make: one who compulsively collects or hoards small SHINY objects!  I love clothes, shoes, and bags as much as the next girl (okay, so maybe that is a MINOR understatement…okay okay, maybe it’s more of a major one!) but there is something irresistible about jewelry! And you can never have enough pieces…jewelry has the ability to make any bad situation better. I mean think about it, on those days when you’re bloated (your favorite low-rise jeans will only taunt you) or when you simply have “nothing-to-wear”, the best thing to do is to think of your clothes as a blank canvas and your accessories as the paint! Throw on some studs, pack on the bangles, or go classic with your long pearl necklace and voila! You’ll find yourself instantly chic! Glam! Classic! Similarly, sunglasses are definitely at the top of the list for handy accessories; a right pair of sunglasses can make you frumpy to fabulous in an instant! Why do you think that sunglasses are such a favorite accessory to the stars?!  Here is one of my favorite quotes on this subject by Jack Nicholson:

“With my sunglasses on I’m Jack Nicholson. Without them I’m just fat and 60”

Humor aside, this comment really does hit a true note.

Just like the color pink, anything that is remotely sparkly will catch my attention and while this makes for very distracting walks, I don’t mind indulging in this particular obsession of mine…so count on seeing many future posts and pictures about my precious SPAH-kle! I will illustrate how you can use all kinds of jewelry to jazz up any and all oufits!

Now for the basics…

xoxo, Nahri.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “MY ALTER EGO

  1. Pingback: Stella & Dot | Style Atelier

Leave a Reply

