I Do!

I adore weddings. So much, in fact, that when FRESH Event Management needs a little help with wedding coordinating, I gladly volunteer my time and energy into making wonderful weddings happen. I love the flowers, the table settings, the decor, and most of all, the gowns. Vera Wang is probably the first wedding gown designer I had ever heard of. I could not get enough of the tulle, the organza, the lace, and the exquisite details in her airy creations. Ever since, I have dreamed of donning one of her dresses and floating down the aisle amidst the oohing and ahhing of the guests. How could a wedding possibly go wrong when you’re getting married in Vera Wang? I was curious as to who the divine Ms Wang was so I did some research to discover some remarkable things. Before her entry into the fashion realm, she was an accomplished figure skater who competed in the US Figure Skating Championships. When she didn’t make the US Olympic team, she decided to pursue other interests in the fashion industry. For sixteen years she was the devoted senior fashion editor at Vogue before she was denied the role of editor-in-chief which was bestowed upon Anna Wintour. She had a brief stint at Ralph Lauren as the design director before finally stepping out on her own in 1990. And thank goodness for that! Not only has she made the wedding gowns of such celebrities as Jessica Simpson, Mariah Carey, Avril Lavigne, Victoria Beckham, Jennifer Garner, and Uma Thurman but she has also created the costumes for figure skaters Michelle Kwan, Nancy Kerrigan, and Evan Lysacek. Her dresses make a mandatory appearance in wedding-related movies and television such as Bride Wars and Sex and the City and her dresses continue to be synonymous with wedding gowns despite the growing popularity of other wedding gown designers like Monique Lhuillier. My devotion to Vera Wang can obviously never be broken and while I wait for my own proposal, I shall continue to dream about my ethereal gown as I say those magic words: “I do!”

All images via Vera Wang.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

