A Beauty Product Junkie’s Top Picks, Part I

 

Image via The Bella Cottage

I wouldn’t say I’m a crazy beauty product junkie, but I’ve bought my share of beauty products over the years starting with those Bonne Bell Lip Smackers that came in amazing flavours like cotton candy and pink lemonade. Since then, I’ve spent a large chunk of my allowance and pay cheque on mascaras, lip glosses, eyelash curlers, more mascaras, and even more lip glosses. I’ve compiled some of my favorite finds from over the years in a 2-part series starting with my skincare picks and make-up for the face.

Untitled

My top picks for facial cleansing start with the original Clarisonic. This device is worth every penny as it effectively cleans your pores with a circular motion and even beeps to let you know when to move on to the next section of your face. I noticed a difference the first week I started using it and while it works well with any cleanser, I prefer Medique’s Facial Cleanser AHA/BHA which contains Alpha/Beta Hydroxy Complex and botanicals for a gentle yet effective cleanse which is also good for acne-prone skin. Once a week I switch my cleanser for Philosophy’s Microdelivery Exfoliating Wash for a an even deeper cleanse. I’ve tried out a few toners, but Bliss Daily Detoxifying Toner is my favorite as it is alcohol-free and has a thicker consistency than most of the ones I’ve tried. Celeb-favorite Ole Henriksen produces the Truth Serum which is a vitamin C pop for your face and is a great energizing addition to any skincare regime. Darphin is a French skincare line that has a wonderful moisturizer aptly named Hydraskin as it hydrates your skin without the grease and has a fresh, light scent. Finally, I go back to Mr. Henriksen for a non-oily Fresh Start eye cream. I started using eye cream when I was in my early-twenties since I figured it was never too early to start protecting my delicate peepers and so far Fresh Start gives me moisture without being to heavy.

I don’t do a whole lot in the way of foundation. I have been blessed with pretty clear and fairly even skin that light coverage will usually suffice. Currently, I am favouring Laura Mercier’s tinted moisturizer and have returned to it after using Bare Minerals for a couple of years. Although I like the lightweight mineral coverage, I find that as I age (eep!) my skin is getting slightly drier and it shows with the powder-based make-up. Laura Mercier’s tinted moisturizer (which also comes in an oil-free version) gives me just enough coverage and I prefer its dewy finish over the matte finish of Bare Minerals. Because I have been not-s0-blessed with darker undereye circles, I do look for heavier coverage in the concealer department. I’ve found the Undercover Pots from Laura Mercier to do the trick as it combines a concealer for imperfections with an undereye concealer and setting powder all in one compact little pot. (I just discovered hat Jennifer Anniston is also a huge fan of the pots!) To top it off, I have stuck with Bare Minerals Mineral Veil as my finishing powder of choice.

Stay tuned for Part II of my top beauty picks next Monday and don’t forget to leave a comment and let me know what your fave beauty finds are!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Beauty Product Junkie’s Top Picks, Part I

  1. Angela, thanks for the mention of the Clarisonic in your post! If you ever have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at: 888.525.2747 or info@clarisonic.com.

    Thanks again and happy cleansing!

Leave a Reply

