JUST A GIRL…

As much as I adore the androgynous shapes of modern day fashion  (I wear the boyfriend blazer over anything and everything), at the end of the day I’m just a girly girl; I’m a girl who fell in love with fashion while playing dress-up in my mother’s high heels and pearls. Glamorous and chic are usually terms I am attracted to when shopping for dresses, but sometimes the sweetest finds are ones that make me reminisce about my carefree childhood days when the beauty of a dress was determined by “twirling”… and best of all, youthful outfits are much easier on the wallet (as you will notice below)! Summertime is the best season to take advantage of cost-effective finds (think H&M, Forever XX1, etc.) whereas it is wiser to make the extra investment on fall/winter pieces when quality materials and fine tailoring really matter. Pictured above is a pale yellow dress from Purr, a delightful clothing boutique here in Calgary. The innocently simple elastic waist combined with soft and sheer layers just makes me feel pretty. In order to avoid looking like I raided my niece’s closet, I made sure to opt for a flowy fit and mixed in some sophistication with accessories.

2 long strand pearls – Vintage / Gold design chain necklace – Banana Republic / Gold braided belt – Banana Republic / Metallic flower flip flops – Winners

Cream lace dress – Forever XX1 / Beach hat – Winners / Oversized yellow scarf – Nordstrom / Double wrap-around brown leather belt – Mango / Assorted bangles – House of Harlow & Ebay / Gold wedge sandals – Vancouver Boutique

Pink dress with ruffled layers – Department store in Korea / Round gold locket – Vintage / Pink skinny hair band – Shopper’s Drug Mart / Large Hermes Clic Clac bangle in pink & gold / White & gold-chain braided sandals – Aldo Shoes

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “JUST A GIRL…

  1. Lovely dresses. I especially like the white one!

  2. very sweat dresses.. love both 😀

Leave a Reply

