Ode To Coco

My Achilles’ Heel, if you will, is definitely rooted in purses…Chanel purses to be exact. I am perfectly happy filling my wardrobe with savvy finds that range from Joe Fresh (see Angela’s fab post below!) to Winners but when it comes to my babies~ I mean bags~ I am a sucker for the heavy hitters. There are a plethora of designers out there including (just to name a few) Louis Vuitton, Christian Dior, Gucci, Prada, Balenciaga, Valentino, Marc Jacobs, and of course the mecca of bags, Hermes. When it comes to fashion, I like to think of my style as eclectic in regards to the brand or designer selections I make, however, there is a certain “je ne sais quoi” that allures me to Madame Coco’s iconic line, Chanel. Chanel exudes and celebrates classic and timeless femininity. While there is an abundance of unique designs that come out each year, I gravitate towards the original collection of Chanel bags to ensure that my investment stands the test of time. The price tag of my beauties is something that I constantly try to defend (for the record, all of my purchases HAVE indeed appreciated in value over the years and I will personally guarantee that a vintage Chanel in good condition will cost more than a new one in most instances) but at the end of the day, I cannot deny that it will set you back a pretty penny. BUT (this is for most of you men out there who are appalled that a “piece of leather” could possibly cost so much), think of  it as the woman’s version of the Rolex watch, a long term and symbolic investment; I assure you that these puppies will be handed down generations. And plus, the purse is an intimate part of a woman’s look, her prerogative to indulge in or alter as she desires. The addition of an appropriate bag is an instant (and easiest) way to enrich even the blandest of outfits. At the end of the day, regardless of its monetary value, the purse is valued for much more than its utilitarian purpose.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ode To Coco

  1. We are waiting patiently for the day when we can buy our first Chanel. Lucky lucky you!
    Greetings from Ireland
    xxx
    Fifi & Niamh
    http://www.thewardrobewars.blogspot.com – take a look if you get a chance, we’d love your feedback – follow if you like what you see.

Leave a Reply

