Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens

Wheee!! I leave for a 10-day trip to Norway and London today! Travelling is one of those favorite things that I definitely don’t get to do enough so I am really excited about this trip. It’s been a few years since I’ve been on a “real” trip (those quick 1-hour flight trips don’t count!) and as I finish packing and checking off my list I am getting more and more anxious to dash off to the airport. As I think about how much I enjoy travelling my mind wanders off to the other things in life that make me happy so here are 5 other favorite things of the moment.

1.

Fratello Analog Cafe at Calgary Farmers’ Market

Ok, so coffee is not a favorite thing of the moment, but a favorite for life. I first discovered it in high school with all those sugary drinks at Starbucks and slowly matured away to enjoy Americanos and good drip coffee. Although I’m not a coffee connoisseur by any means, I think I’ve drank enough to know a good coffee when I taste it! Some of my favorite coffee spots in Calgary are Chiasso (17th Avenue location), The Purple Perk Coffee Market, and although I don’t get to this one very often, I also enjoy deVille. There’s a new spot in Kensington called Vendome Cafe that I haven’t been able to check out yet– anyone been?

2.

Watches by Michael Kors and Philip Stein

I love watches. I recently got the Michael Kors one to add a fun and sparkly piece to my wardrobe and I absolutely love it. That’s not to say that I’ve neglected my Philip Stein as it is a really classic design with a twist that I will likely wear for the rest of my life. I love its dual dial and how adaptable it is with its changeable straps.

3.

I recently came across these mason jars and knew I needed to use them as water glasses. I really like the simplicity of the design yet enjoy the nice details. They would also look great with some fresh cut flowers, yes?

4.

I miss reading. 5 or 6 years ago all I did was read to complete my degree and now with the bustle of every day life I don’t get to pick up a good read often enough. Anyone have any good recommendations?

5.

PB&J and S’mores doughnuts from Jelly Modern Doughnuts.

I’m not normally a huge fan of doughnuts, but the folks at Jelly do a really great job and have created some of the best flavour combinations: salted caramel, maple bacon and more!

What are some of your favorite things?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

